Believing is Seeing

Welcome to the blog home of romantic fiction author Sandra Sookoo, where I write about love, food, Disney and the magical secrets that make the world go 'round!

Six Sentence Sunday–Who are you?

on October 9, 2011

Thanks so much to those of you who keep coming back to read my snippets every Sunday! I truly appreciate it. I hope you like what I come up with.

This week’s snippet again comes from one of my Halloween tales called HUNTER’S MOON MAGIC. It’s available from Liquid Silver Books, Amazon, All Romance ebooks and Fictionwise.

Set-up: We’ve moved into the late 1800s in Lancaster, Ohio. This bit comes from the first couple to utilize Judith’s black dress, and this is their first meeting at a costume ball.

***

The pirate from the drawing room stood ten feet from her with a tri-corne hat tilted at a rakish angle over his left eye.

The moonlight gave him an ethereal quality, twisting his features into light and shadow like a bizarre hall of mirrors. One second, he appeared safe and the next, a dashing man full of excitement and mystery. On a night like this, anything could happen—and Carolina intended to see exactly what would. “Who are you?”

A grin lifted one corner of his lips and he said, “Since it is a masquerade, who would you like me to be?”

***
If you’d like to read the blurb and excerpt, pop over to my website!

Want more Six Sentence Sunday fun? Drop by the official SSS website for the list of participating authors. See you next week!

43 responses to “Six Sentence Sunday–Who are you?

  1. Alix says:

    Wonderful six, my imagination is ignited and I want to read more. Beautiful job.

  2. mirriamsmyth says:

    I think she knows who she wants it to be, but is it really him? Great six :)

  3. A fantastic six xx Loved it x

  4. Heh, I love his answer. Great six!

  5. Sounds like the beginning of an interesting evening! Great description, Sandra. Sexy six!

  6. Ranae Rose says:

    Love his answer. :)

  7. Sherry Gloag says:

    I love the concept the dress will effect the lives of different couples. I hope the magic of the masquerade works for Carolina. Great six.

  8. Amy Durham says:

    First of all, that’s a BEAUTIFUL book cover! Second, I LOVE this six! Loved the visual of his hat tipped at an angle over his eye, while dressed in a pirate costume. Loved that she seems excited and ready for whatever might happen. And really loved the last line… the mystery, intrigue, and anticipation in that line are vivid! Awesome 6!
    Amy Durham

  9. Cate Masters says:

    Love his attitude. Wonderful description. And gorgeous cover!

  10. lexcade says:

    Ooh, sexy. I looooove a masquerade. It’s one of the most romantic and exciting settings where anything can happen. I’m with Sherry. LOVE the concept and can’t wait to read more!

  11. Paula Martin says:

    Great six – hope he’s who she wants him to be!

  12. Liz says:

    I just LOVE his response! (Love the cover)

  13. Cara Bristol says:

    Sexy last line! Wow.

  14. katsrus says:

    Great six. I could picture that in my mind with his little smug grin. LOL.

  15. Dee Carney says:

    Oh! He’s damned sexy!

  16. OOooohhh.. I can’t wait to read this story. “Who would you like me to be?” Love it.

  17. Marie Dees says:

    Oh, fun! Is he a real pirate? Sigh, must get this book.

  18. Eleri Stone says:

    Oh, good answer :D

  19. Gemma Parkes says:

    Very sexy answer, l like him!

  20. epbeaumont says:

    Sexy closing line… answer a question with a question. Love the scene-setting in the opening lines.

  21. Laura Kaye says:

    Love that last line! Sexy and intriguing and playful!

  22. Oh do I sense a touch of role-play here? Totally awesome six, Sandra!

  23. Great imagery and loved the last line! :)

  24. Gorgeous cover!! I love that last line. Sexy, intriguing and with a promise of more. great six!

  25. Jennifer Lowery~Writer says:

    Sexy pirate and six! Intrigues me to read more.

  26. Sue says:

    you are the master of description teasing and fun

  27. Vivien Dean says:

    Great response on his part. Excellent job!

  28. Lindsay says:

    Your description of the man and how he looks makes the last line creepy

  29. Elyzabeth says:

    I really liked his attitude and her curious spirit.

  30. Monica Enderle Pierce says:

    Gawd, I love his answer! Terrific characterization and description in so few words.

  31. Barb says:

    great answer, man! :-D

  32. Nice! wonder who she’d want him to be? Might be a dangerous question.

  33. Gem Sivad says:

    Good answer. I like him already. Great six!

  34. A perfect sexy pirate reply. Great Six!

  35. OOOH. I really like this. I mean like A LOT. Great six.

  36. How can you lose with an excerpt that starts “The pirate in the drawing room….?” Thanks, Sandra.

  37. Love her fearlessness in the face of the unknown and his sassy reply! :)

  38. karysafaire says:

    Beautiful. I know who I’D like him to be. . .oops, not my story. :-)

  39. Very nicely written :) …though my first thought when I read your first line was, ‘Cap’n Sparrow?’

  40. Layna says:

    Love that last line. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,524 other followers

